ELSI Advisory Group (ELSIag)

The Ethical, Legal and Social Implications advisory group (ELSIag) addresses ethical, legal and social issues that SPHN will face.


The ELSI Advisory Group is composed of experts from various relevant fields such as bioethics, life sciences law, social sciences.

It also includes representatives of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS), swissethics, and patient advocacy groups.



Prof. Andrea Büchler

Private and comparative law

Dr. med. Susanne Driessen

Research ethics
Matthias Baumgartner

Prof. Matthias Baumgartner

Rare diseases, clinical science

David Haerry

Patient advocacy

Prof. Samia Hurst


Prof. Beat Rudin

Data protection

Prof. Effy Vayena

Bioethics, health policy
Chairperson of the ELSIag

Ex officio members

Thos Geiger_BW_cropped

Dr. Thomas Geiger

Managing Director SPHN

Former members

  • Dr. Caroline Brall, Public health ethics, research ethics, ethics education (ex officio)
  • Prof. Jacques Fellay, Genomics, Clinical Science (CHUV / EPFL)
  • Cyrill Berger, Data protection law (Office of the Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner)
  • Dorothée Caminiti, Health law, bioethics, policy (ex officio)
  • Prof. Annegret Hannawa, Patient safety, communication science (Università della Svizzera italiana)
  • Ursula Koch, Patient advocacy (Krebsliga)
  • Thomas H. Meier, Data protection law (Office of the Federal Data Protection and Information Commissioner)
  • Prof. Francesco Panese, Studies of the relations between science, medicine and society (University of Lausanne)
  • Prof. Brigitte Tag, Health law, human subject research act (University of Zurich)
  • Prof. Jacques de Werra, Internet, information and IP laws (University of Geneva)
Scroll to Top