The National Steering Board (NSB)

The National Steering Board (NSB) is the highest governing body of SPHN and is responsible for the overall strategy, for maintaining regular contacts to the superordinate political authorities and for external communications in coordination with the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS).

The NSB includes representatives from key institutions in Switzerland (e.g. University Hospitals, Universities, ETH Domain, swissuniversities, Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), patient organizations). The integration of representatives from additional institutions (e.g. private hospitals, health insurances, industry) is foreseen in the future. The members of the NSB are appointed by SAMS.

The Committee of the NSB (Ausschuss) has the duty to prepare the meetings of the NSB and meets regularly to advance activities, process information, and enable more effective management of the SPHN as a whole.

Next NSB meetings

Thursday 17 November 2022

Thursday 23 February 2023

Thursday 11 May 2023

Thursday 21 September 2023

Thursday 16 November 2023


Prof. Christophe Dessimoz


Prof. Beatrice Beck Schimmer

Vice-Chairperson of the NSB

Dr. Stéphane Berthet

Campus Biotech
Foto_Schlottig Falko_web

Prof. Falko Schlottig


Prof. Urs Frey

Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences
Chairperson of the NSB

Prof. Antoine Geissbühler

Cluster GE-LS-BE
Chairperson of the NAB

Prof. Thomas Geiser

Cluster GE-LS-BE

Prof. Christian Wolfrum

ETH Zürich

Prof. Christian Leumann


Prof. Claudia Kuehni


Dr. Olivier Menzel

Patient Organization representative

Prof. Manuela Eicher


Prof. Gabriela Senti

Cluster ZH-BS

Prof. Christiane Pauli-Magnus

Cluster ZH-BS

Prof. Mauro Oddo

Cluster GE-LS-BE

Prof. Didier Trono

EPF Lausanne

Ex officio members

Dr. Thomas Geiger

Managing Director SPHN
Luca Tratschin_Foto_Website

Dr. Luca Tratschin

State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation

Dr. med. Susanne Driessen

Chairperson of the ELSI advisory group
Solange Zoergiebel

Solange Zoergiebel

Chairperson of the HIT-STAG

Dr. Salome von Greyerz

Federal Office of Public Health

Permanent guests

  • Dr. Christine Currat, Swiss Biobanking Platform (SBP)
  • Victoria Sarraf, Swiss Clinical Trial Organisation (SCTO)
  • Dr. Ulf Petrausch, Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK)
  • Prof. Bernd Wollscheid, Personalized Health and Related Technologies (PHRT)
  • Prof. Nicole Probst-Hensch, Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+)
  • Dr. Stéphanie Wyss & Dr. Simona Berardi Vilei, Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)

Former members

  • Dr. Katrin Crameri, ex officio member as Director of SPHN DCC (SIB) (2019-2024)
  • Prof. Anita Rauch, SAMS (2017-2023)
  • Prof. Effy Vayena, ex officio member as Chairperson of the ELSIag (2017-2023)
  • Prof. Detlef Günther, ETHZ (2017-2022)
  • Prof. Jürg Steiger, Cluster BS-ZH (2020-2022)
  • Annette Magnin, SCTO (2020-2022)
  • Prof. Ron Appel, SIB (SIB/UniGE) (2016-2022)
  • Prof. Roger von Moos, Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK)
  • Dr. Benedikt Knüsel, SERI (2020-2022)
  • Dr. Irene Knüsel, SNSF (2020-2022)
  • Prof. Torsten Schwede, ex officio member as Chairperson of the NAB (UniBas) (2016-2021)
  • Prof. Jean-Daniel Tissot, Cluster GE-LS-BE (CHUV) (2016-2021)
  • Prof. Nouria Hernandez, swissuniversities (UNIL) (2016-2021)
  • Prof. Matthias Gugger, Cluster GE-LS-BE (Inselspital) (2016-2020)
  • Prof. Herbert Binggeli, swissuniversities (Bern University of Applied Sciences) (2016-2020)
  • Prof. Hughes Abriel, SNSF (2018-2020)
  • Prof. Mirjam Christ-Crain, Cluster Zurich-Basel (University Hospital Basel) (2017-2019)
  • Prof. Denis Hochstrasser, Campus Biotech (University of Geneva) (2016-2019)
  • Prof. Christoph Hock, swissuniversities (2016-2018)
  • Prof. Peter Meier-Abt, Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (2016-2019; NSB Chairperson [2016-2018], NSB Vice-Chairperson [2019])
  • Prof. Christoph A. Meier, Cluster Zurich-Basel (University Hospital Basel) (2016)
  • Prof. Arnaud Perrier, Cluster Geneva-Lausanne-Bern (University Hospital Geneva) (2016-2018)
  • Prof. Dominique Soldati-Favre, SNSF (2016-2018)
  • Prof. Gregor Zünd, Cluster Zurich-Basel (University Hospital Zurich) (2016)
Scroll to Top